Audio Engineering Tips & Tricks

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper

Audio Engineering Tips & Tricks

Post by IskatuMesk »

In this article I am going to show you various ways I process audio for voice acting and video casting. I am not going to teach you how to voice act or cast, because that's something that can't really be taught, and I'm not going to teach you how to use the programs from A to Z. Only practice can help you there. But I can show you how I deal with specific subjects and I can present you many concepts I see most well-known casters and many new voice actors miss out on.

My methods are almost exclusively self-taught. I have found virtually no resources regarding anything I do, so I've experimented over the course of 17 years to find the best solution to my needs. They are not perfect and there is likely to be better solutions out there. But they work, and the reward is the string of compliments regarding my devotion to improving the world of audio engineering in my many projects.

Introduction

This article assumes you are using Audition, preferably 1.5. I will potentially show some of my dirty tricks in Sony Vegas as well. The elements therein can be translated to other audio editing applications if you are familiar with them. Pro tools doesn't work on my hardware because it claims I have no ASIO card. Great. Tell that to the $300 piece of Asus shit that has "ASIO" right on the box. Not making that mistake again.

Remember -

- Youtube is trash. It re-encodes videos and audio and hits the quality like a sloppy sack of dead puppies. If you value quality, don't use it. Ever.
- Soundcloud also re-encodes audio but it's not as bad as youtube. Still an extremely noticeable drop.
- Never use mp3 if you can avoid it. It destroys audio quality. It's a horrible format.