AI Scripts

Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
Rocco
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: New York

AI Scripts

Post by Rocco » Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:29 pm

This is a newbie question but I just started working with the World Editor. How can I give computers the AI to run in campaigns?
[quote="AA7Dragoon"]
No homo.
[/quote]

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6530
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet

Re: AI Scripts

Post by Lavarinth » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:33 pm

Create a new AI script or assign one to it already created?
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

Topic author
Rocco
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: New York

Re: AI Scripts

Post by Rocco » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:50 pm

The trigger editor is confusing to me, I just wanna give the computers AI scripts like build a base and stuff, I know theres Easy AI and norm etc. but can't figure how to give them to the computer.
[quote="AA7Dragoon"]
No homo.
[/quote]

User avatar

Marine
Protoss Dragoon Shooting Target
Protoss Dragoon Shooting Target
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 8:16 pm
Location: MICHIGAN

Re: AI Scripts

Post by Marine » Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:59 pm

Well for one is this like a melee map or a custom map?
If melee you can do that in the game before starting by just deciding what difficulty.
Usually if custom AI you have to make your own AI and add it by importing it, then go to trigger editor and do such as:
Event:
Map Initialization
Actions: AI - Start campaign (or melee) AI Script for Player (1) (or who ever): map.ai (put your ai here)

Thats how I would try in putting AI for the enemy,
[img]http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/3600/zergsig5smallff5.png[/img]

User avatar

Topic author
Rocco
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: New York

Re: AI Scripts

Post by Rocco » Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:23 pm

Yeah, for a custom. I would like to make my own campaign but couldn't figure out how to get the computers to go. Forgive my stupidity.  XD
[quote="AA7Dragoon"]
No homo.
[/quote]

User avatar

Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2011
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm

Re: AI Scripts

Post by Ricky_Honejasi » Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:31 pm

Since you just started using WorldEdit, you might consider downloading the tutorials from that thread : index.php?topic=496.0

Those are tutorials that I made to help newbies to know WorldEdit which start with very simple things and slowly gets into more detailed stuff. While it's far from being complete, it's just enough complete to learn the basics of basics which allows a much solid base for a newbie to learn more complex things (instead of trying to understand "everything").

However, none of them cover AI scripts since I have little experience myself in those and making advanced AIs is a true pain in WorldEdit.

User avatar

Topic author
Rocco
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: New York

Re: AI Scripts

Post by Rocco » Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:44 pm

Thanks, I'm starting to get the hang of the WorldEditor but the lag bothers me. I find the trigger editor more difficult the StarCraft's.
[quote="AA7Dragoon"]
No homo.
[/quote]

User avatar

Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2011
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm

Re: AI Scripts

Post by Ricky_Honejasi » Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:04 pm

RCcola wrote: Thanks, I'm starting to get the hang of the WorldEditor but the lag bothers me. I find the trigger editor more difficult the StarCraft's.
Are you implying the lag when you try to make new units/items in WorldEdit's Object Editor? If so, the method to almost completely minimize that is in the earliest of my tutorials which is repeated over 4-5 times to be reasonably sure a newbie don't miss it.

And yes, WorldEdit is much more complex than StarEdit but it allows about as many new things (which is easily 100 more times than Starcraft) that you find it complex for. It is complex enough that it is likely that you will find specific things much more easier than others (ex: cinematics, "programmer" triggering, terrain'ing, etc.) and thus people tend to be more specialist of specific things.

User avatar

RazorclawX
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 1943
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:19 pm

Re: AI Scripts

Post by RazorclawX » Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:11 pm

The AI editor is a true piece of crap, as I never got anything I made with it to work right. I ended up doing AI scripts by hand.
Image
-- Razorclaw X
Creator of Wanderers of Sorceria and Vision of the Future

Post Reply