Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
RazorclawX
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 1943
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:19 pm

Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post by RazorclawX » Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:28 pm

https://us.battle.net/forums/en/bnet/topic/20753797075

Nothing particularly exciting except it moved all my custom maps/campaigns into the Documents folder.

Although fair warning: The patch puts a plain text file in your Warcraft III folder containing your CD keys for Roc and TFT. Make sure you register them on your Blizzard account because that's kind of a weird thing to do.
Image
-- Razorclaw X
Creator of Wanderers of Sorceria and Vision of the Future

User avatar

Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm

Re: Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post by Xenon » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:51 am

Well, that beats deleting everything like some of the SC2 patches :P

CD keys? uh oh... I already registered my war3 key to an account I abandoned, because I accidentally put my name on it before I knew that was a bad idea...

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6530
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet

Re: Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post by Lavarinth » Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:36 am

Seems this patch has caused some heartache for some, just be sure to back up your folders first.

It did delete Ricky's maps folder, as an example, with no transfer to Documents folder.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm

Re: Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post by Xenon » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:34 pm

Ugh. Same old Blizzard. I moved my stuff before trying to install the patch, but it had an error and I had to reinstall the whole thing. Then it copied the default maps without deleting them ::)

Weirdly, the game loads maps from BOTH locations. On the plus side, I don't have to change my monitor's resolution just to play it in 4:3 anymore.

Can someone make sure Mucky doesn't lose his stuff?

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8301
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘ జ్ఞ‌ా

Re: Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post by IskatuMesk » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:54 pm

Sounds like they are using software cursor instead of hardware cursor now? If that's true I am gonna die laughing.

User avatar

Topic author
RazorclawX
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 1943
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:19 pm

Re: Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post by RazorclawX » Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:43 pm

Yeah seems like I'm the only one who had absolutely no problems that I'm aware of. It hung for a LONG time because of moving my campaign files, but it moved them nonetheless (all except the Demo Campaign even when I moved IT into a few subtrees).
Image
-- Razorclaw X
Creator of Wanderers of Sorceria and Vision of the Future

User avatar

Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm

Re: Warcraft III 1.28 Patch

Post by Xenon » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:08 pm

It looks like the patch screwed up the ability order IDs and that's what broke Castle Fight. Supposedly that will be fixed.

https://us.battle.net/forums/en/bnet/to ... =2#post-34

Post Reply