WOW repeated issue

Post Reply
muaddib
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:19 pm

WOW repeated issue

Post by muaddib »

well, wow is pretty much part of the warcraft universe, i hope its the right place to rant in this thread i made.
i recently bought woltk,, tried a death knight, enjoyed the new zones, the music, the dungeons etc.
recently when i wish to log in, i enter the nick name and password, hit enter, and wait for the authentication to commence and enter the character screen, however, during the authintication it gets stuck on "success" for far to long time,and wont budge to the characteror server screen.
further more,other players on my realm do not seem to have the logging issue i have.
it has its wierd moments my net is so very "kind" to let me in to play, and if i crash during gameplay, well, i cant enter th game for the next few days.

i tried the blizzard forums,the net srrvice too, but nothing, their suggesions had no effect :(
word of advice is apprecited, if others encountered this issue,or have the knowledge to counter the "success" issue.
User avatar
Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6536
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by Lavarinth »

Do you have any addons installed? You may want to try temporarily moving any custom content to a separate folder, if that doesn't work, I would suggest e-mailing WoW's support team. This may also be related to your router settings, have you recently upgraded and/or installed a firewall or adjusted ports?
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator
muaddib
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:19 pm

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by muaddib »

hmm, well, i removed the addons from the folder, yes, it usually does the trick.
as for the router, the previous one went kaput, as you guess, its the net too, that went down.
however, even with a new router- same effect stuck on "success".

as for blizz, despite their good intention of suggestions, by email or phone, was not too effective, they directed me to the wow threads.
i saw various salutions.
some tips there worked  for a day or 2, but, the stuck routine repeats itself.
im assuming its somehow rush hour in the net, i truely am clueless what could be the obstacle.
also, tried patch reset, at least twice, rested the router,computer etc- nada. :-\
User avatar
Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6536
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by Lavarinth »

I feel like it may be relative to the router, what kind of router do you have?
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator
muaddib
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:19 pm

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by muaddib »

well, saw 2 machines there, the one that had a name on it is "edimax"
modem machine " tnn aztech 660"
i think i used reset on both.
User avatar
Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6536
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by Lavarinth »

And you have disabled your computer firewall? Are you able to access the router's setting and see if you can disable any sort of firewall setting is may have?
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator
muaddib
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:19 pm

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by muaddib »

firewalls, did not consider this matter..not sure where i can access that :s
ill look into it by a tech-support perhapse, unless you have a suggestion how to access, i'll be most obliged.
User avatar
Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6536
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by Lavarinth »

What's your operating system?

If XP: Control Panel > Windows Firewall > Off

Then access your router, and under security or advanced there is typically a Firewall setting you can disable as well.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator
muaddib
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:19 pm

Re: WOW repeated issue

Post by muaddib »

did as you suggested, it worked, thank you very much :)
Post Reply