Idea of making a tank unit


Topic author
VektoSpec
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:40 pm
Status: Offline

Idea of making a tank unit

Postby VektoSpec » Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:54 pm

Hello, This is the guy who was called TheMadMan. Just couldn't enter my account here, so i would make new one.

Ok, let's cut to the chase. I have an idea to make a tank, which is based on Mammoth Tank/Tank Apocalypse from the all legendary games like Dune 2/Red Alert. The problem is, the graphics. Generally i do have an sketch in mind, but i do not know where to make a model from it, and it seems Blizzard wouldn't make their own units just by pixel by pixel drawing does it?

I have read about something that you can convert from IskatuMesk's Post, But i am no specialist on it.

So... Can you help me?

User avatar

Ardis
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 5:03 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Idea of making a tank unit

Postby Ardis » Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:01 pm

I'm looking at sprites of the Mammoth tank from Red Alert 1 and 2. The resolution looks a bit small for Starcraft.

If you look into modding tools for C&C, you should find the tools to rip sprites and then split them into individual frames.

From there, rename them as needed and repackage them as a .grp.

If you're looking to replace a specific unit, unpack the .grp for that unit and grab the .ral file. That will give you the list of every .bmp name you will need to repack it with your new tank.

And with tanks, if you want the turret to turn, you'll need to make sure you have a sprite for both the base of the tank and the turret.


Zeoinx
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:36 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Idea of making a tank unit

Postby Zeoinx » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:54 pm

Might as well necro this, just in case someone here still cares

If you plan on using "Sprites" from Tiberian Sun or RA2, keep in mind they are not sprites, they are Voxels, and would require you to take screenshots of each animation frame, (Including all 360 Rotations) in order to get it working into SC.


Return to “StarCraft Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest