RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Moderator: Milldawg

User avatar

Topic author
Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm
Status: Offline

RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Xenon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:08 am

It deleted my maps and mods folders! Fortunately I backed it up recently, so I hope you see this first.

User avatar

UntamedLoli
Protoss Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Protoss Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Canada, BC
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby UntamedLoli » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:24 am

They never learn, do they? There's no reason to ever be deleting everything in a folder. Manifests exist for a reason.

/e

I made a news post including a warning.

/e2

You had them in the base directory right? Like "StarCraft II/Mods".

I don't actually have SC2 installed currently to see myself.
Image
Image

User avatar

Topic author
Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Xenon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:31 pm

Yeah, it was in the base directory.

The damage is worse than I thought. I THOUGHT I had them backed up, but Windows only backs up stuff in the "Users" directory WHAT THE HELL MICROSOFT

At least there's a bunch of autobackup files from most maps since Mar 2013, and an older backup from 2011, so it isn't all lost, but seriously WTF.

User avatar

UntamedLoli
Protoss Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Protoss Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Canada, BC
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby UntamedLoli » Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:13 pm

Well I made a post in the bug reports earlier. They are wondering what files and where it was.

http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/topic/19136064691
Image
Image

User avatar

Topic author
Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Xenon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:40 pm

Deleted all SC2Map files in Program Files (x86)/Starcraft II/Maps
Deleted all SC2Map files in Maps/Test (except possibly the EditorTest ones)
Deleted all SC2Map files in all other subdirectories in Maps, other files including SC2Mod were unaffected

Deleted all SC2Mod files in Program Files (x86)/Starcraft II/Mods and subdirectories except EditorTest ones

User avatar

Rocco
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: New York
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Rocco » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:54 pm

Thanks for posting that on the main page, I backed up all my files before starting the new patch.

How does Blizzard do this shit?

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8776
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby IskatuMesk » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:07 am

Rocco wrote:How does Blizzard still do this shit?
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Revolta
Promoted! Due to a misunderstanding you didn't correct
Promoted! Due to a misunderstanding you didn't correct
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:02 am
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Revolta » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:09 am

well there is still diablo 1 code in these dll files so theres no way you can expect good things from those kinds of people

also mesk you probably right about the AI being shit still but legacy of the void hasn't officially shipped yet so i think it might b e possible that they did something good for once, though unlikely it is...

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8776
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby IskatuMesk » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:21 am

I mean. This is the performance of the natives that is the real big thing. It's not likely anyone still on staff even knows how they work, much less is inclined to address them since the campaign just spawns waves manually. If they were going to change they would have done so by now.

Sure, some of the stuff that came with 3.0 and void are kind of neat, like the promise of finally having cloth physics, map-based cube maps, etc. but without functional B&D AI there is no point making a campaign.

/e

I will say I had considered making a hero-centric thing based on heroes stuff but the galaxy/data requirements would be very high compared to a B&D project, so it's not really a consideration.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Revolta
Promoted! Due to a misunderstanding you didn't correct
Promoted! Due to a misunderstanding you didn't correct
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:02 am
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Revolta » Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:56 pm

Should just go back to brood war. make an armageddon campaign.

User avatar

Mucky
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Posts: 1037
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 10:35 pm
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Mucky » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:19 pm

"Thanks a bunch for the update UntamedLoli, we are working on a fix for this now."

you had one job, QA guy

still not regretting my decision not to buy HotS

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6579
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: RED ALERT! Back up stuff before patching SC2!

Postby Lavarinth » Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:43 am

Not sure about you guys, but this is why I always would create project folders outside of default directories for any game title or application. Then again, with StarCraft II this has been going on since the Beta editor was released, and it was mentioned several times then and in prior patches to them.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests