The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

User avatar

Topic author
Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Ricky_Honejasi » Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:39 pm

While I didn't test actively, it seems they did increase the 8 kb or so bank limit to about 1 MB worth per player, per bank. 38 Banks max.

http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/topic/6232274277

It easily mean that brand new kind of maps can spawn out of it. Maybe ill make a quickie or two based on bank functionality.

If I ever finish that defense map, it would also mean I could add the functionality to customize some enemies and own units' data from game to game.

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby IskatuMesk » Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:56 am

Blizzard is just trying to clean up the disastrous PR that would have ended any other company by now. Actions speak louder than words, and the fact they "need" 1.5 for a max plugin they've been using since alpha speaks quantities of their incompetence as a whole. It's just the same backpedaling they've been doing in WoW forever.

Ahli and I were both ignored in the suggestions thread, so it's the same old sweep misgivings under the carpet.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Lavarinth » Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:12 am

IskatuMesk wrote:Blizzard is just trying to clean up the disastrous PR that would have ended any other company by now. Actions speak louder than words, and the fact they "need" 1.5 for a max plugin they've been using since alpha speaks quantities of their incompetence as a whole. It's just the same backpedaling they've been doing in WoW forever.

Ahli and I were both ignored in the suggestions thread, so it's the same old sweep misgivings under the carpet.



Gotta copy/paste that shit a billion times in the forum to be recognized.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby IskatuMesk » Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:00 pm

No, it's very much selective ignorance. Exact same reason why we got fucked every single Q&A there's ever been, why every interview is dodge dodge dodge, why there is utterly no appropriate communication besides some interns patting us on the back saying it'll be all right.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Topic author
Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Ricky_Honejasi » Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:09 am

I admit that the custom map scene has been sweep under the carpet for all 2 years. Although, hopefully they will redeem themselves from now on.

Unfortunately in other news, it seems that despite a blue's revelation that banks now allows 1 MB, my own test implies the opposite. Even another guy's test even failed at 100 KB banks.

Although, I do have reasonable hope that by reporting it that they will fix it eventually. No idea when although.

At the strict minimum, they DID bother checking the bank issue while I expected it would be 100% ignored in favor of pretty much anything else.

User avatar

Topic author
Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Ricky_Honejasi » Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:49 pm

A thread that could interesting for some ... could potentially solve some FPS issues on low graphics settings :
http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmes ... _id=357482

Be warned that some players had issues doing this :
To restore the old mode for "low", change the Starcraft graphic option to "low", apply the change, then close Starcraft. Go to your documents folder and open the "Starcraft II" subfolder and edit "Variables.txt". The new low mode is active with the line

alternateLowTextures=1

To restore the old mode, set it to 0 (zero).

alternateLowTextures=0

Save and close the file and launch Starcraft.

User avatar

Topic author
Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Ricky_Honejasi » Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:43 pm

So I made a new thread about the bank issue on the Blizzard forums. A blue personally responded to me and it seems they got the proper fix and it should probably in the next version (I guess 1.5.2).

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby IskatuMesk » Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:21 am

I have talked with one of the programmers for the sc2 editor and pointed out a few things to him as well as gave him a writeup about the layout. Only time will tell if he'll listen.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Falchion
Zerg Broodling Dance Instructor
Zerg Broodling Dance Instructor
Posts: 620
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: Bragança Paulista, Brazil (Da most borin' place in the world)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Falchion » Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:35 am

IskatuMesk wrote:I have talked with one of the programmers for the sc2 editor and pointed out a few things to him as well as gave him a writeup about the layout. Only time will tell if he'll listen.


Honestly doubt it. Blizzard never gave a fuck about good people who have the decency to point the flaws in them works. Why start now?
How I became a troll in a single post (And you can too!!! :D ): link

Image

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby IskatuMesk » Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:10 am

I never said I was expecting a positive result. But if they did indeed start fixing the editor, it would be progress.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Falchion
Zerg Broodling Dance Instructor
Zerg Broodling Dance Instructor
Posts: 620
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: Bragança Paulista, Brazil (Da most borin' place in the world)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Falchion » Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:15 am

I'd doubt they'd make any effort to fix the editor, too.
How I became a troll in a single post (And you can too!!! :D ): link

Image

User avatar

Topic author
Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Ricky_Honejasi » Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:30 pm

In other news, it seems the bank fix won't come in 1.5.2 but it will be mentioned in the patch notes when it does kick in.

As for Blizzard fixing the editor, while I don't expect big miracles, it's already a very good step that they actually try rather than heavily neglecting it.

EDIT : Patch 1.5.2 is out so I guess said fix is not in because they did it a bit too late to fit it in 1.5.2 development-wise.

EDIT 2 : Seems patch 1.5.2 likes to overwrite your graphic settings to the highest possible like 1.5.1 did. They did add some kind of warning icon about it if you hit ESC to show up the menu but if you close SC2 real soon the first time, you aren't unlikely to notice it.

User avatar

Mucky
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Posts: 1037
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 10:35 pm
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Mucky » Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:00 pm

Falchion wrote:I'd doubt they'd make any effort to fix the editor, too.

yeah i agree, let's just not try to reach out to blizzard at all

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Lavarinth » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:50 am

Mucky wrote:
Falchion wrote:I'd doubt they'd make any effort to fix the editor, too.

yeah i agree, let's just not try to reach out to blizzard at all


Thank you.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

Topic author
Ricky_Honejasi
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Xel'naga Solar Moderator
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:50 pm
Status: Offline

Re: The planned patch 1.5 (Arcade patch)

Postby Ricky_Honejasi » Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:32 pm

Right now, it's probably the best time to reach them before something big might happen and their support diminish due to human resource reallocation.


Return to “StarCraft II Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest