Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

User avatar

Topic author
GnaReffotsirk
Zerg Larva Herder
Zerg Larva Herder
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:54 am
Status: Offline

Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby GnaReffotsirk » Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:03 pm

We can create batch files to load maps without having the user drag-and-drop maps onto the sc2 shortcut.

example:
set CURRENTDIR=%CD%
"..\..\StarCraft II.exe " "%CURRENTDIR%\MissionSelection.sc2map"

All we need is an deployment wizard that creates a deployment package to install our maps and this batch file into the starcraft II\maps folder along with creating a link on the user's desktop for the batch file.

The user will only need to:

1. select his/her maps folder during install, then
2. double click the link on his/her desktop. And finally,
3. Profit! <-- (always wanted to type that)

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6579
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Lavarinth » Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:08 pm

That's actually quite ingenious. So you need an installer or extractor that would ask the player to select the Maps directory... Someone get Q back onto the forum.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

Topic author
GnaReffotsirk
Zerg Larva Herder
Zerg Larva Herder
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:54 am
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby GnaReffotsirk » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:45 pm

I use install creator freeware. Is there another one out there that has no limits?

What's Q or Who is Q?

User avatar

Thalraxal
Protoss Stargate Concierge
Protoss Stargate Concierge
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Thalraxal » Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:27 pm

GnaReffotsirk wrote:I use install creator freeware. Is there another one out there that has no limits?

What's Q or Who is Q?


Quantam. He made a few SC1 editting tools, notably MPQDraft which was capable of creating SEMPQs (Self-executing MPQ files), which made it a lot easier to make/distribute mods.

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8776
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby IskatuMesk » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:18 am

This has potential. I like.

*writes some stuff in his little greasy white book*
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Theia_Loki
Zerg Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Zerg Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:26 pm
Location: clarington area (residence better left unknown)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Theia_Loki » Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:15 am

*Cha-Ching!*

Now this I like. ;D

One Question: Does this mean we don't have to conform to that silly "Map Publishing limit" thing with storage allowance and number of maps? :)

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6579
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Lavarinth » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:30 am

Theia, yes this is right, but dropping any map over a shortcut or exe for SC2 does not need to be published, and will load linked maps also not published.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

Taeradun
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:08 pm
Location: AU
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Taeradun » Sat Apr 23, 2011 7:03 am

cool idea, I think I could probably make a loader app that could manage/install multiple maps/campaigns and launch maps in SC2, but I'm not sure if I should make such a harmless program because there's a lot of vague stuff in the EULA and Blizzard are dicks :S
Image

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8776
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby IskatuMesk » Sat Apr 23, 2011 7:16 am

Make it private and they can't do anything about it. ;P

There are sc2 replay managers that do this and AFAIK nothing has happened to them yet.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Taeradun
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:08 pm
Location: AU
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Taeradun » Sat Apr 23, 2011 10:38 am

been investigating further and just realised a simple fix could be to change your file associatons so that when you doubleclick a SC2Map file in Windows Explorer (assuming Windows use here) it plays in SC2 rather than opening in the editor (but could instead be opened in the editor with right click -> Edit). This could be set up with a simple registry patch however would need to be altered depending on the user's SC2 install directory.

Also in the installer scenario listed above, it wouldn't even need to be a batch file - it could just be a simple Windows shortcut. And the installer program wouldn't even need to prompt the user for their SC2 install directory if it can read that automatically from the registry (not sure if that last bit's practical with whatever the hell extra security stuff Vista/7 have??)

I still like this launcher idea though, because it could be set up to list the individual maps in a campaign and not need a "lobby" map, and other cool stuff like that.
Image

User avatar

Topic author
GnaReffotsirk
Zerg Larva Herder
Zerg Larva Herder
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:54 am
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby GnaReffotsirk » Sun May 01, 2011 11:55 am

No problems making a launcher as long as it doesn't modify anything or hack anything. If we just automate drag-and-dropping it shouldn't be a problem.

User avatar

Chriso
Terran SCV Lube Technician
Terran SCV Lube Technician
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:46 am
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Chriso » Mon May 09, 2011 1:01 am

a
Last edited by Chriso on Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
#steehlrain

User avatar

Maglok
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 1313
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Maglok » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:14 am

This concept I like, a lot. Very interesting.

We don't have other ways to properly do it do we?
- Maglok
Audio engineer and writer
SC2 campaign dev ranting: The Bunker blog

User avatar

Topic author
GnaReffotsirk
Zerg Larva Herder
Zerg Larva Herder
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:54 am
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby GnaReffotsirk » Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:46 am

Not yet at least. I'm too lazy to setup VB and make this one. Maybe someone would/could/should.

User avatar

Maglok
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 1313
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Status: Offline

Re: Found A Work-around for Campaign Deployment

Postby Maglok » Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:15 am

I might check it out if nothing has come up when we are ready to release an episode.
- Maglok
Audio engineer and writer
SC2 campaign dev ranting: The Bunker blog


Return to “StarCraft II Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests