Page 1 of 1

WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:05 pm
by Lavarinth
Image

We’re excited to announce the models and assets that made Warcraft III an amazing universe to explore are now available in the StarCraft II PTR.

This brings over three thousand new materials for the amazing Arcade development community to work with, including new hero models for the 4 primary races, all of the original Warcraft III models including neutral creatures and their sounds as well as doodads, structures, spell effects, ambient sounds, music and custom user interfaces for each race.


Image

Source: Blizzard Entertainment

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:27 pm
by IskatuMesk
Only a portion of them are updated. The majority are just 1:1 exports of the wc3 meshes. You will probably want to backport them anyways, because their particles are pretty dreadful.

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:33 am
by Lavarinth
Correct, only the race heroes are updated, nothing more.

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:29 am
by Mucky
You mean they didn't update Rexxar?

those FAGGOTS

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:11 am
by Thalraxal
This is pretty cool, but I'm curious as to what inspired this. Were they planning on making a digitally remastered version of WC3 or something?

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:44 pm
by IskatuMesk
Probably. Then they fired the one intern working on it, released all their "new" content and got praise for the 2-3 mappers left still making tech demos for the game.

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:39 pm
by Ricky_Honejasi
Hopefully, ill be able to make them available in Micro and Tactics down the road.

Although, I heard the War3 data is only going to be released in like 2 months or something.

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2015 3:53 pm
by IskatuMesk
I was kind of hoping that the particles might be useful because, y'know, wc3 had decent particles for its time.

Hah. As if Blizzard did anything but blindly export 99% of this junk.

Image

Image

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:26 pm
by Lavarinth
What in the world is happening!

Re: WarCraft III Assets Now Availabe in StarCraft II PTR

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:33 pm
by IskatuMesk
Some intern forgot to set a blending option to Add.

In some other cases they may have used alpha channels they didn't enable in sc2.