Page 1 of 1

Starcraft High Resolution Mod

Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:28 pm
by Whiplash!
Now, thanks to a hacker named McBane, StarCraft can be run at any resolution.
The hack is still in beta and has bugs, but I'm sure that in few months it will be more stable.

[youtube=425,350]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Soxt36oWeUE&feature=channel[/youtube]

Official site link: http://www.starcraftresolutionhack.de.vu/

I have also posted in the forums a tutorial on getting this to work if anyone is having trouble.

*Disclaimer: I, nor Campaign Creations, do not support using this over the net against people that doesn't know that you're using it, I would personally think this is something fun for single player and replays however*

Re: Starcraft High Resolution Mod

Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:29 pm
by Whiplash!
Ok for those of you having issues I will post some screen shots and a how to guide. I tried to make this as easy and simple as possible.

1. Download the Starcraft resolution hack. The most recent version requires the most recent starcraft patch. You can find a link from the youtube link. I don't know if the mods will be angry that I referred to a "hack" link in another link.

2. Extract the entire contents into your Root starcraft folder.
Image

3. Run DxWnd.exe, this should be in your root starcraft folder. Click the Starcraft/Diablo I/Warcraft II option and then click run. Go to your starcraft root directory and click starcraft.exe (this may be usable with custom exe's but I have no tried it, nor will I). This should load up Starcraft Brood War in a 640x480 window.

Image
Image

4. Tab out of brood war (don't close it, alt + tab for you noobs), click on the ResolutionHack folder; it should be in your Starcraft directory. Click StarcraftResolutionHack.exe and a program should pop up.

Image

5. Select the resolution you want (the 1280*800 doesn't crash for me so I recomend it. If the program crashes try another resolution. Load up a game and wala! There you go. You can switch freely between a few different commands in game with some of the F keys.

I would like to comment that I don't really consider this a hack since it doesn't try to give a player an unfair advantage over another, it simply increases Starcraft's resolution. There is on reason anyone should ever use this as a means to have an advantage over another player while playing a game. I hope it is perfected and used by players who want to enjoy single player replays, campaigns, or by commentators.

Re: Starcraft High Resolution Mod

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:19 am
by Hercanic
Very cool in concept, though slow and buggy in execution.

SEN linked to our news. In their comment section, Heinermann gave the following illuminating information.
Heinermann wrote:This is what the hack does:
Takes a snapshot of the screen for the top left, moves one screen to the right, takes a snapshot of the screen for the top right, moves one screen down, takes a snapshot of the screen for bottom right, moves one screen to the left, and takes a snapshot for the screen in bottom left.

IMO it's sort of "fake". Starcraft's resolution is still 640 x 480, while this hack makes it appear that it is running a higher resolution.
While this method may possibly be valid, it's way too buggy. I can even see the minimap screen moving around to where the snapshots are taking place. If this was perfected, then yeah it would be an advantage. As of now, I doubt it.


Heinermann wrote:I found out that the actual game resolution is 672x448, with a buffer of 0x49800. 32 pixels extra for the X and 48 pixels extra for the Y. (Starcraft's "playable" screen is 640x400, because of the HUD)


After reading about this, it seems Heirnerman is trying out his own high-res modification. I wonder if, and hope, he'll achieve far better results, and maybe even incorporate the ability to inject it into mods (would love something like that for STF).

Re: Starcraft High Resolution Mod

Posted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 11:17 pm
by donaldjeo13
Thanks for wonder full and interesting toturial to adjust high resolution.    ;D

Re: Starcraft High Resolution Mod

Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:10 pm
by Taeradun
lol love the use of MCNT for the demonstration video :)

Re: Starcraft High Resolution Mod

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 6:25 am
by GreatGodSajuuk
I tried it out and it kinda works now. It's just that it looks like only 1280x800 is stable.