Page 1 of 1

Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 11:18 am
by Pr0nogo
So normally I can run SCII at mid-high graphics settings, maybe even extreme if I bothered to set it that high (haven't tested this). Regardless of what detail the graphics are set to, though, one thing is for certain; about fifteen or so minutes into any match, the game will slow down for about five minutes at a time. The slowdown is massive - it literally says, '1 frames per second' if I mouse over the menu button. That's ridiculous.

Has anyone experienced this before? I really would like to solve it as it also seems to happen when using the WarCraft III World Editor at length (like, hour+ sessions, although strangely enough the in-game graphics do not lag at all, ever) and when playing any other game using 3D (like Command and Conquer 3, tested it there, too).

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 11:28 am
by Lavarinth
What's your specs and OS?

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 11:39 am
by Pr0nogo
Windows Vista Home Premium, Service Pack 2. HP computer.
6 gigs RAM, 64 bit OS.
687 gigs HD, not counting extra space taken up by system files and whatnot.

Anything else I should list?

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 12:23 pm
by Lavarinth
Your graphics card.

Edit: And your processor.

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 12:45 pm
by Pr0nogo
Processor; got an Intel Core2 Quad CPU (Q6700 @ 2.66GHz - that entry is in device manager four times, probably because it's a quad core).
Graphics card; NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GS

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 1:50 pm
by Lavarinth
Did you participate in the D3 Beta, and if so how was that interaction?

Most of the topics I'm reading in regards to your graphics card is that it can barely handle Medium. In other words, it's dated and old, and should be upgraded unless you rather play on lower settings for maximum performance. The rest of your computer functions well on higher settings, but if you upgrade, you need to make sure your PSU has enough watts to cover the system and new graphics card.

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 4:31 pm
by Pr0nogo
Issue is resolved. Thanks for trying to help. IskatuMesk shared some valuable knowledge about power settings that was causing my HD to deactivate after 20 minutes.

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 8:42 pm
by Ricky_Honejasi
Oh gosh, it decided to "deactivate" IN-game?

Well, unless you use a laptop, you don't have any real reason to have the HD set to sleep/deactivate/etc. Only the monitor at worst.

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 11:18 pm
by IskatuMesk
Ricky> He's running a chinese make believe computer, not a real computer. All of the components are probably plugged into the wrong slots and soldered to each other in a giant steaming heap of horse feces.

Re: Major gameplay slowdown (1 FPS)

Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 1:06 am
by mark_009_vn
IskatuMesk wrote:Ricky> He's running a chinese make believe computer, not a real computer. All of the components are probably plugged into the wrong slots and soldered to each other in a giant steaming heap of horse feces.


Chinese make believe huh? No wonder why I have to replace my mainboard every 3 months. :P