System Requirements

User avatar

Topic author
IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

System Requirements

Postby IskatuMesk » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:38 am

PC Minimum System Requirements*:
Windows® XP/Windows Vista®/Windows® 7 (Updated with the latest Service Packs) with DirectX® 9.0c
2.6 GHz Pentium® IV or equivalent AMD Athlon® processor
128 MB PCIe NVIDIA® GeForce® 6600 GT or ATI Radeon® 9800 PRO video card or better
12 GB available HD space
1 GB RAM (1.5 GB required for Windows Vista®/Windows® 7 users)
DVD-ROM drive
Broadband Internet connection
1024X720 minimum display resolution

PC Recommended Specifications:
Windows Vista®/Windows® 7
Dual Core 2.4Ghz Processor
2 GB RAM
512 MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8800 GTX or ATI Radeon® HD 3870 or better



Mac Minimum System Requirements*:
Mac® OS X 10.5.8, 10.6.2 or newer
Intel® Processor
NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT or ATI Radeon® X1600 or better
12 GB available HD space
2 GB Ram
DVD-ROM drive
Broadband Internet connection
1024X720 minimum display resolution

Mac Recommended Specifications:
Intel® Core 2 Duo processor
4 GB system RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce® 9600M GT or ATI Radeon® HD 4670 or better


Personally, the thing that gets me the most about sc2 is how relatively well it runs. But make no mistake, you are not running max settings 1920x1200 on a 3870 or 8800.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

AA7Dragoon
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Washington, USA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby AA7Dragoon » Thu Jul 22, 2010 4:07 pm

I'm running on minimum requirements for Mac, and it still runs pretty well for me.  I don't have lag issues in multi-player games.  I hope the single-player campaign has no issues.  I'm planning to get a new iMac in the fall anyway.
I have seen the Desler.  I have tasted of his milk and honey.

User avatar

Topic author
IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby IskatuMesk » Thu Jul 22, 2010 4:34 pm

The minimum settings gut almost everything out of the engine. It's actually kind of amazing that the engine can just off over half of its rendering capabilities at the flip of a switch.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

AA7Dragoon
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Protoss Khalai Missionary
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Washington, USA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby AA7Dragoon » Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:26 pm

^ I know.  The graphics don't look great on my old Mac :( however, it gives me something to look forward to when I play the campaign again with my new Mac!
I have seen the Desler.  I have tasted of his milk and honey.

User avatar

Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby Xenon » Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:13 pm

I'm willing to cut my resolution in order to see better effects. My laptop runs it well on "high" settings (except for texture detail), but my major concerns are related to CPU load due to me going overboard with triggers. Again.  :P

User avatar

Frozty
Demoted! They found out.
Demoted! They found out.
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:53 pm
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby Frozty » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:43 am

Well I have to run everything on Low for my Macbook Pro. And on my PC, I can move up to at least Medium, but that thing is so obsolete.

I've already convinced myself that half of my refund check will being going to what is essentially a new computer. I'm just basically start from scratch from the motherboard up. I'm planning on getting the AMD Phenon II X6 1090T Black Edition, 6 gigs of RAM from GSkill, and going Crossfire 5770's. I figure that will be more than enough to run SC2 at Ultra at 1600 x 1200 (or whatever) and anything past SC2 for the next 4 or 5 years at a pretty satisfying level.
Image

User avatar

Topic author
IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby IskatuMesk » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:51 am

My lone 4870x2 easily handles sc2 at max 1920x1200. If they fix their shader performance then that should stop the weird lag I get with cloaking when motherships spawn.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Maglok
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 1313
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby Maglok » Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:42 am

There have been a few tech reviews/benchmarks and they all conclude that SC2 is seriously, seriously, scalable. To a level not really seen before. :)

I will be playing full HD with ultra settings. Bring on the game!
- Maglok
Audio engineer and writer
SC2 campaign dev ranting: The Bunker blog

User avatar

Topic author
IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby IskatuMesk » Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:47 am

The big thing about sc2 is that you can, like, completely turn off the lighting and shadow engine. That's what makes the big difference. You can also totally turn off normal mapping and some other stuff. The game looks so silly without those running, haha.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Frozty
Demoted! They found out.
Demoted! They found out.
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:53 pm
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby Frozty » Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:45 am

Agreed, but it does make it possible to play on DX9 cards :D
Image


Xelxiuz
Zerg Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Zerg Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 2:41 am
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby Xelxiuz » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:29 pm

IskatuMesk wrote:My lone 4870x2 easily handles sc2 at max 1920x1200. If they fix their shader performance then that should stop the weird lag I get with cloaking when motherships spawn.


I only have one 4870, is the difference THAT BIG?

User avatar

Topic author
IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: System Requirements

Postby IskatuMesk » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:31 pm

It's a dual GPU card. Can't think of anything that doesn't run well for me.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Return to “StarCraft II Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest