Unit doesnt want to cast

User avatar

Topic author
TheMadman
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:04 am
Location: The edge of my blade!
Status: Offline

Unit doesnt want to cast

Postby TheMadman » Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:55 am

I was making a mod, and now i have encountered a problem in spells. Suddendly, Firebat Hero (i gave him mana) cannot cast any spells that i added for him through Firegraft (Restoration, Matrix) but still can be targeted. I checked Firegraft many times, and i didnt found anything that would cause it.

P.S i didn't saw ANY tutorials about modding, so dont blame about how stupid i am.
EDITED: I've tried to use Icecc to find the problem within, and i added Casting Code, but still it doesnt want to cast anything. Even Hero Medic.
Ya know, sometimes i remember old times when Dune 2000 was rocking, when God of War II was the best game, when
starcraft was the best strategy among everything....

I always ask myself: why many people dont play this legendary games, why they want play new ones?
And the answer is: they don't love games bro, they don't love them....


Revolta
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:02 am
Status: Offline

Re: Unit doesnt want to cast

Postby Revolta » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:11 am

In Firegraft, go to Dat Requirements -> Use Tech, select the spells you added to Gui Montag (Firebat), and add him to the list of requirements.

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8783
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Unit doesnt want to cast

Postby IskatuMesk » Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:27 pm

I don't know what casting code is, but it was a specific sigorder in iscript that was required in the related animation to signal the actual spell cast. I suspect that got turned into casting code by the new definitions (I always used the old ones). If a unit lacks the header entirely for spellcasting you may need to update that (and the "type") accordingly. And yeah, requirements are also a big deal.

Medics have a lot of hardcoded junk associated with them iirc, so I don't know how well that will work.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Revolta
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:02 am
Status: Offline

Re: Unit doesnt want to cast

Postby Revolta » Fri Aug 28, 2015 7:38 pm

If you're changing the spells of a medic you're better off changing their default spells instead of giving them new ones because they use spell carriers like queens do for broodling, ensnare, and parasite, which do have AI hardcode aspects.

User avatar

Topic author
TheMadman
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:04 am
Location: The edge of my blade!
Status: Offline

Re: Unit doesnt want to cast

Postby TheMadman » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:52 pm

Ok, some things in dat for heros were corrected, now units can cast now spells propetly.
Ya know, sometimes i remember old times when Dune 2000 was rocking, when God of War II was the best game, when
starcraft was the best strategy among everything....

I always ask myself: why many people dont play this legendary games, why they want play new ones?
And the answer is: they don't love games bro, they don't love them....


Return to “StarCraft Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest