How Mpq mods work?

User avatar

Topic author
TheMadman
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:04 am
Location: The edge of my blade!
Status: Offline

How Mpq mods work?

Postby TheMadman » Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:56 am

Hi,

I had a problem with Custom MPQ exes for sometime with Win7. MPQ always asks me for SC CD every time i start them.
I download everything for exe (mpq, maps etc.) but still asks me for CD. How fix/skip this problem?
Ya know, sometimes i remember old times when Dune 2000 was rocking, when God of War II was the best game, when
starcraft was the best strategy among everything....

I always ask myself: why many people dont play this legendary games, why they want play new ones?
And the answer is: they don't love games bro, they don't love them....

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8783
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How Mpq mods work?

Postby IskatuMesk » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:43 am

They are memory patchers. The digital download of SC effectively has a no-CD crack in it, and maybe 1.16.1, iirc. The mods, especially those that are based on older versions, patch the memory of the exe and don't have the no-CD crack. As far as I understand it, anyways. There may have been a way around this but I never looked into it when I worked with the game, since I always had my CD on hand. Maybe someone else might know.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Revolta
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Terran Nuclear Silo Safety Inspector
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:02 am
Status: Offline

Re: How Mpq mods work?

Postby Revolta » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:57 am

Digital download of SCBW starts at 1.15.2 I believe, definitely not 1.16.1.

User avatar

Topic author
TheMadman
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:04 am
Location: The edge of my blade!
Status: Offline

Re: How Mpq mods work?

Postby TheMadman » Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:47 am

I did got vision3a.exe working on SC, but on the start it tries to find hex number in storm.dll (428) but unable to find. What does this mean?
Ya know, sometimes i remember old times when Dune 2000 was rocking, when God of War II was the best game, when
starcraft was the best strategy among everything....

I always ask myself: why many people dont play this legendary games, why they want play new ones?
And the answer is: they don't love games bro, they don't love them....

User avatar

Topic author
TheMadman
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Terran Missile Turret Rotary Tester
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:04 am
Location: The edge of my blade!
Status: Offline

Re: How Mpq mods work?

Postby TheMadman » Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:07 am

ok, just i now i was thinking, why author wouldnt update MPQDraft at least, so it would recognize BroodWar.mpq in starcraft folder? isn't that logical?

also, i thought about making an ''custom'' CD of BroodWar. Idea is simple: Revert BroodWar.mpq back to his INSTALL.EXE and then using a program (alcohol120% or other) to place INSTALL.EXE into blank CD with autorun + ico in it. If i am correct, MPQDraft check every CD for an INSTALL.EXE.
Ya know, sometimes i remember old times when Dune 2000 was rocking, when God of War II was the best game, when
starcraft was the best strategy among everything....

I always ask myself: why many people dont play this legendary games, why they want play new ones?
And the answer is: they don't love games bro, they don't love them....


Return to “StarCraft Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest