Need help to start campaign mods

User avatar

Church
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Church » Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:58 pm

What are you creating the mpq with? Open WinMPQ, hit "new", and save it. It should be an .mpq file.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:15 pm

when I just save it with any title it becomes an .exe

I managed to make it an mpq by adding .mpq to the end of file name but when I tried to load it with MPQdraft I still just get dumped back to the starting screen after I click "finish" on the plugin screen

User avatar

Church
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Church » Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:42 pm

Sorry, I'm out of ideas. Your computer must just be incompatible with that kind of exe. I wish I could help but I can't think of anything else.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:44 pm

I don't know why it would be, like I said it worked a few weeks ago. IIm running some anti-malware programs since the last time I had a bit issue with a game that fixed it, and I haven't run those in a couple months.

Are you sure I don't need a plugin file or could you show me where to find one?


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:25 pm

I've done more research and found a couple people with the same message, one person said "kaspersky" was causing the error so I managed to dot he antimalware programs and got rid of malware, still nothing.

One person just said they "solved it" but didn't say how. I sent them an email but haven't gotten a reply yet.

why did my computer decide to eat it's own brain when it comes to these mods?

At this point I want to try and completely reset my pc back to 0

Or maybe turn my laptop into my starcraft mod machine and hope it hasn't suffered the same fate

Edit: My laptop works for it, I'm creating a restore point so I can just bring my laptop back to that point if it ever suffers the same fate.

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8781
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby IskatuMesk » Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:40 am

Very weird that making an mpq makes an exe... I've never even heard of something like that before.

I recommend getting a priest and exorcising that thing.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Thu Sep 04, 2014 7:59 pm

Well thanks for trying, both of you, but Ive managed to place an "exorcism" point on my laptop so I can reverse time to before any demons show their face.

Also as long as I'm here, IskatuMesk, what happened to your "realm" on Campaign Creations site. I recall having fun with some mods you had there that just replaced entire factions for shits and giggles, at least I think that's what was in there.

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8781
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby IskatuMesk » Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:41 pm

The subdomain was never actually active, I don't think (not as a site, anyways). Most of the mods ended up getting nuked when the domain went down and I didn't bother to re-upload them. Only AO and ITAS are currently available (which can be found in some threads people made in my forum.)
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Return to “StarCraft Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest