Need help to start campaign mods


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:08 pm

Crap, even after a clean reinstall I still get the message "the patch was unsuccessful"

User avatar

Church
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Church » Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:03 pm

Okay, just for clarity's sake, can you please list specifically what mods you are having trouble with? Please also mention what version of starcraft you're using when you tried them. You said you had trouble with the "gear" exes? That's weird, because those and the firegraft exes are the ones I've had least trouble with. Also what folder are your exes stored in?

On a quick test: Vison3.exe (prophecy) works fine on 1.07, with the exe and its mpq both stored directly in the StarCraft folder and no subfolders.

Every other VotF campaign works fine on 1.16.1, stored in their own subfolders in my maps folders. Both of Metathrom's campaigns run fine on 1.10.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:20 pm

I'm trying to start the following mods: Vision of the Future, Black Dream, Final Destiny, Zeji + Mekani conversion, Resurgence, Legacy of the Confederation (all 4 mods), and the Fenix, but I've tried a couple others like the Antioch chronicles but they all have the same error.

I put the mods directly in the Starcraft game folder, and I just tried to put the Vision of the future mod into it's own folder in the maps folder and I still get the same message no matter what version of Starcraft I'm trying to load (1.10 or 1.16.1)

Still every time I try to load them I get a "ding" and a message that says "The Patch was Unsuccessful"

One thing I noticed is that the Prophecy mod comes with an MPQ while none of the other mods do, might that have an effect on this?

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8783
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby IskatuMesk » Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:34 pm

Was your first installation a CD installation or a digital installation?

I would try a fresh reinstall of all that first before trying to make a new exe, since you'll probably need to figure out what button changes they did. As for that, if the files in your exe are under the same paths of those in the old one, I have no idea why they wouldn't work...

/edit

Oh, there was another page I didn't see. hue

What is the mpq called? If it's patch_rt, then you can do one of the following.

1 - Back up your old patch_rt and toss it in its place for the duration of your play. This thing has to predate Stardraft to do this...

2 - Pull out the files and put them into an exe.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:28 am

The MPQ that comes with Prophecy is called vision3.mpq

my original install on this computer, when the thing did work, was the digital install, and I did do a clean reinstall, I even deleted the old Starcraft folder before I reinstalled it.

User avatar

Church
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Church » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:32 am

You have the weirdest problem I've ever experienced with this.

You seem to run stardraft exes (like vision3.exe) with absolutely no problem, but MPQdraft exes (the gear ones) don't work. This makes basically no sense to me since the MPQdraft ones are much newer than stardraft, and I've always had an easier time with the newer ones.

I have another idea, but it's a stretch. Do you have both WinMPQ and MPQdraft on your computer? Try using WinMPQ to extract all of the files out of one of the exes you're having trouble with, compile all that data (with the same file names, folder names, etc) into a new and fresh mpq, and then run that mpq with MPQdraft. I'm hoping that by bypassing the .exe it'll run the data properly. It's not my best idea but I can't think of anything else right now. I'm not confident that this will work with all of them.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8783
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby IskatuMesk » Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:30 am

The thing about reinstalling is, deleting the folder doesn't matter for a lot of mods. They're actually looking at your registry for the install directory. So, if your registry is pointing somewhere incorrect, it won't work.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Church
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Church » Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:34 am

Doesn't SCV Selector fix the registry? I know there's an option for that but I don't really know how it works in detail so I just left it checked.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 10:26 am

I'll try the MPQ thing but is there something in the Registry I can edit? Is there I way I can send a snapshot here so you can compare it to yours and figure out what might be causing the problem?


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 10:33 am

IskatuMesk wrote:The thing about reinstalling is, deleting the folder doesn't matter for a lot of mods. They're actually looking at your registry for the install directory. So, if your registry is pointing somewhere incorrect, it won't work.


if I delete the starcraft registry then reinstall might that work or would that just cause more problems?

Edit: No, deleting the registry didn't work, I'll try the MPQ thing now


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:05 am

Jim_Raynor wrote:You have the weirdest problem I've ever experienced with this.

You seem to run stardraft exes (like vision3.exe) with absolutely no problem, but MPQdraft exes (the gear ones) don't work. This makes basically no sense to me since the MPQdraft ones are much newer than stardraft, and I've always had an easier time with the newer ones.

I have another idea, but it's a stretch. Do you have both WinMPQ and MPQdraft on your computer? Try using WinMPQ to extract all of the files out of one of the exes you're having trouble with, compile all that data (with the same file names, folder names, etc) into a new and fresh mpq, and then run that mpq with MPQdraft. I'm hoping that by bypassing the .exe it'll run the data properly. It's not my best idea but I can't think of anything else right now. I'm not confident that this will work with all of them.


How do I run things with MPQDraft

I load up winMPQ, I extract the content of a mod, I save it as an exe then reload that to save it as an MPQ, I load up MPQdraft, I find the new MPQ, I select it then it asks for a plug in and I can't find what it's asking for. Where is the plug in?

User avatar

Church
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Church » Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:57 am

You don't need a plugin. Leave that blank and just continue.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:15 pm

I tried, but when I clicked "finish" it just dumped me back to the first screen

User avatar

Church
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
a.k.a. the REAL Lavarinth
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Church » Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:18 pm

Okay, I think you misunderstood part of it.

Using WinMPQ, open the exe you want to use. Extract all the files. Close the exe. Make a new mpq, titled whatever you want. Import all the files with the same filenames and folders. That way you will have two exact same things, but one is an exe and one is your new mpq. Run that mpq using MPQdraft.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.


Topic author
Firerush
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:49 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Need help to start campaign mods

Postby Firerush » Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:38 pm

when I created a new "MPQ" the way you described it became an exe.

Am I supposed to use the "MPQ embedder" function?

Or Am I supposed to manually title the created file a .mpq


Return to “StarCraft Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests