Hunter Killer Glitch


Topic author
DuplexBeGreat
Terran Barracks Laundry Master
Terran Barracks Laundry Master
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:03 pm
Status: Offline

Hunter Killer Glitch

Postby DuplexBeGreat » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:27 pm

Just came across a certain glitch for the umpteenth time, and was wondering if anyone knows what causes it.

Basically, as far as I can tell the glitch happens randomly to any mod and changes its .dat settings. It affects the Hunter Killer unit slot, and sets all of the "Staredit" settings (as viewed in Datedit) to "off", which prevents the unit from appearing in the game when placed in a map or told to appear by trigger. This just happens... Randomly. Completely randomly. It is easily fixed by using Datedit, but is very annoying and I have no idea what causes it. I think it only happens to each mod once, but I'm writing this because it just happened to Flame Knives, which I've had downloaded for about a year. Anyone else recognize this?
You are not Raszagal. Stop saying that!

User avatar

Church
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Hunter Killer Glitch

Postby Church » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:06 pm

That's never happened to me me. I have no idea what would cause that, but those Staredit settings don't affect SCMDraft (I'm pretty sure they don't, anyway), so if you switch to exclusively using SCMDraft you shouldn't have to worry about it. Staredit is pretty dated now anyways.
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8966
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘ జ్ఞ‌ా
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Hunter Killer Glitch

Postby IskatuMesk » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:17 pm

Don't think I ever ran into that before. However, I did run into an enormous amount of undocumented hardcoded behavior specific to a variety of units. But not datedit resetting stuff.
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.


Topic author
DuplexBeGreat
Terran Barracks Laundry Master
Terran Barracks Laundry Master
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:03 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Hunter Killer Glitch

Postby DuplexBeGreat » Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:08 am

I don't mean that I use Staredit, I meant the tab labeled Staredit in Datedit. I only use SCMDraft anyway and the glitch still happens. I'm not sure why the label is Staredit anyway.
You are not Raszagal. Stop saying that!

User avatar

Church
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:48 pm
Location: now here, nowhere
Status: Offline

Re: Hunter Killer Glitch

Postby Church » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:24 am

Really? I don't know what's up with that then, I didn't realise that affected so much anyways. I guess you'll just have to fix it manually, I don't know what else to do about it.

Out of curiosity, what OS are you using?
StarCraft Fan Campaign Listing

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.


Return to “StarCraft Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests