Page 1 of 1

Is it possible to modify unit energy levels?

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:10 pm
by Saint_Kerrigan
I want to use the energy in SC1 as the basis for an ammo system for certain units (1 energy = 1 bullet, roughly), but after looking through DatEdit I haven't been able to locate anything that would actually let me modify a units energy level (only give a unit an energy bar, but I haven't tested to see if that would actually do anything). If anyone knows where to find this kind of information and can point me to it, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Re: Is it possible to modify unit energy levels?

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:09 pm
by Church
You mean the maximum energy? I don't think that's possible. You could manually reduce the amount with triggers - this wouldn't reduce the maximum of course, but you could set their starting energy.

How would you stop the energy from recharging automatically?

Re: Is it possible to modify unit energy levels?

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:34 pm
by Saint_Kerrigan
Well, I'm only interested in the Energy System because from my initial looks that's the only way I can see to actually limit how many times a unit can fire a weapon. I've already figured out how to do it in SC2, but of course I want to use SC:BW for my campaign, so that doesn't help at all. :P

In short, I don't really know how I'd do any of these things, so I'm poking around and seeing what's there. (Stopping the energy from auto-regen is a matter of enabling Permanent Cloak, according to DatEdit.)

Re: Is it possible to modify unit energy levels?

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:10 am
by IskatuMesk
Energy is very heavily hardcoded. Unless you can do it through triggers, the only other way is ASM.

Re: Is it possible to modify unit energy levels?

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:59 pm
by Saint_Kerrigan
Gah, was afraid of that. :P

Re: Is it possible to modify unit energy levels?

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:38 am
by Lavarinth
I have a strange thought that Hercanic might have done something like this, but I may be wrong.

Re: Is it possible to modify unit energy levels?

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:11 pm
by IskatuMesk
Herc had someone doing ASM edits for him.