Problem starting .exe files

Ogyukos
Terran Settler (Unemployed)

Problem starting .exe files

Post by Ogyukos »

Sorry for being newbie here...
but I'm having problems starting up the custom .exe files like Ascension of Duran: Dark Purposes
and the Black Dream series. I've tried doing the thing that was posted in the "how to work custom
.exe files in vista" since I have vista but it didn't work. I'm not sure what it is but I don't know how
mpqdraft works either.
Pr0nogo
Protoss Zealot Practice Dummy

Re: Problem starting .exe files

Post by Pr0nogo »

Try running as Administrator or using Firewall to allow the program.

MPQDraft is for using .mpq files and turning them into .exe files, not loading .exe files.
Ogyukos

Post by Ogyukos »

It works when run by an adminstrator, thanks for the tip :D
Pr0nogo

Post by Pr0nogo »

You welcome.
MestreLion

Post by MestreLion »

Noob here, sorry for reviving an old topic... but im also having trouble to start .EXE mods.. in Windows XP!

I double-click it, it shows the custom load screen with Duran, then it enters starcraft. So what next? I tried everything... single player->custom game, load map, etc, but no success.

There are NO installing instructions and/or requirements for Ascension of Duran....
- I am using SC (+BW) v1.16.1 (latest patch). Is there a required minimum/maximum patch to play it?
- Is there any requered folder to place the .EXE ? Must it be in /saves/campaign? Or it doesnt matter?
- After it enters Starcraft, what should i do to actually play the campaign?

I am running XP SP3 i nadministrator account. Already tried "Win98" compatability mode, no success.

Any help would be MUCH aprreciated!
Whiplash!
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper

Post by Whiplash! »

Have you extracted the maps into your campaigns folder?
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Death_Wing
Terran Starport Baggage Handler
Terran Starport Baggage Handler

Post by Death_Wing »

And I thought I was the SECOND biggest noob in SC, this proves me wrong, gj!