Page 1 of 1

How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:05 pm
by Whiplash!
I figure I'd post this just incase any of you are having problems. This should only be an issue for outdated .exe files that were created in MPQDraft years ago. Credits to Shadow Stalker for figuring this out.

get into command prompt through administrator then type the following:

bcdedit.exe
/set nx AlwaysOff

then restart your computer and bam...windows dep is disabled

and to enable it type the same command only put AlwaysOn

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 11:08 pm
by ShadowFlare
Actually, the default is OptIn I think.

Besides that, you could also just use an updated version of MPQDraft to run it.  The latest version can be found at http://www.sourceforge.net/projects/mpqdraft

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:55 pm
by DrumsofWar
Does the XP or Windows 2000 Compatibility Mode work at all?

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:18 pm
by ShadowFlare
Considering it already works without, it is likely to either do nothing or cause problems.  As I stated in my post above, it works fine if you use updated programs.

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:06 pm
by Xelxiuz
Never thought I'd see the exact same signature layout regarding text and gifs. Or maybe it's the same person?

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:06 pm
by Razzy
Thanks for this. I was able to get Newrand Citadel to run using this, but not EDAST. Is there something different about their exe's? EDAST just crashes SC immediately and posts a number of error messages. Have not tried any other campaigns but I assume Messiah00Guy did something in his updated version to make it so that it works on newer OS.

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:54 pm
by Aubrey003
what about windows 7 will it work on it too ???
as there is xp mod available in windows 7 to .

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:36 am
by optimus
Aubrey003 wrote:what about windows 7 will it work on it too ???
as there is xp mod available in windows 7 to .

yes it works do try it... :)

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 2:15 am
by Whiplash!
Had this issue. Glad to see that myself from years ago can help me out.