How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

User avatar

Topic author
Whiplash!
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 967
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:
Status: Offline

How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby Whiplash! » Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:05 pm

I figure I'd post this just incase any of you are having problems. This should only be an issue for outdated .exe files that were created in MPQDraft years ago. Credits to Shadow Stalker for figuring this out.

get into command prompt through administrator then type the following:

bcdedit.exe
/set nx AlwaysOff

then restart your computer and bam...windows dep is disabled

and to enable it type the same command only put AlwaysOn
Last edited by Anonymous on Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

User avatar

ShadowFlare
Terran Science Facility Guinea Pig
Terran Science Facility Guinea Pig
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:12 pm
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby ShadowFlare » Fri May 22, 2009 11:08 pm

Actually, the default is OptIn I think.

Besides that, you could also just use an updated version of MPQDraft to run it.  The latest version can be found at http://www.sourceforge.net/projects/mpqdraft
Last edited by ShadowFlare on Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Don't point that camera at me![br]Image

User avatar

DrumsofWar
Protoss Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Protoss Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Posts: 841
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:55 pm
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby DrumsofWar » Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:55 pm

Does the XP or Windows 2000 Compatibility Mode work at all?

User avatar

ShadowFlare
Terran Science Facility Guinea Pig
Terran Science Facility Guinea Pig
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:12 pm
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby ShadowFlare » Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:18 pm

Considering it already works without, it is likely to either do nothing or cause problems.  As I stated in my post above, it works fine if you use updated programs.
Don't point that camera at me![br]Image


Xelxiuz
Zerg Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Zerg Infested Terran (Unemployed)
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 2:41 am
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby Xelxiuz » Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:06 pm

Never thought I'd see the exact same signature layout regarding text and gifs. Or maybe it's the same person?


Razzy
Terran Academy Student (50k mineral debt)
Terran Academy Student (50k mineral debt)
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:04 pm
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby Razzy » Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:06 pm

Thanks for this. I was able to get Newrand Citadel to run using this, but not EDAST. Is there something different about their exe's? EDAST just crashes SC immediately and posts a number of error messages. Have not tried any other campaigns but I assume Messiah00Guy did something in his updated version to make it so that it works on newer OS.


Aubrey003
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:11 am
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby Aubrey003 » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:54 pm

what about windows 7 will it work on it too ???
as there is xp mod available in windows 7 to .


optimus
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Terran Settler (Unemployed)
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:30 am
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby optimus » Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:36 am

Aubrey003 wrote:what about windows 7 will it work on it too ???
as there is xp mod available in windows 7 to .

yes it works do try it... :)

User avatar

Topic author
Whiplash!
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 967
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How to get custom .exe files to run on Vista

Postby Whiplash! » Sat Oct 26, 2013 2:15 am

Had this issue. Glad to see that myself from years ago can help me out.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯


Return to “StarCraft Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests