PC hardware for SC2

Moderator: Milldawg

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Lavarinth » Fri Jun 22, 2007 1:38 pm

AA7Dragoon wrote:You never know how much memory each of those maps are going to cost.  Especially if you download a lot of UMS off battle.net.  WCIII was considerably higher than SC1's maps.  You just might need 1 GB of space.


For.. The maps themselves. Games these days are 2-3gigs+ to install.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

Topic author
hydra
Terran Supply Depot Clerk
Terran Supply Depot Clerk
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 9:57 pm
Location: Hobart Australia
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby hydra » Mon Jul 23, 2007 6:28 pm

Ok i got a new computer the other day good gaming computer i must say.

Here are the spics

Dual core 2 Intel 2.13-GHZ that means 4.13-GHZ.

2GB of Ram.

160GB harddrive

and Navida Geforce 8600 GT with 256MB.

Nice computer with bloody good mother but i have gam problems with and are oing to take it in for a look today.

It's most like Directx problem or Drivers but i hope to get it right soon.


wibod
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby wibod » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:28 pm

hydra wrote:Ok i got a new computer the other day good gaming computer i must say.

Here are the spics

Dual core 2 Intel 2.13-GHZ that means 4.13-GHZ.

2GB of Ram.

160GB harddrive

and Navida Geforce 8600 GT with 256MB.

Nice computer with bloody good mother but i have gam problems with and are oing to take it in for a look today.

It's most like Directx problem or Drivers but i hope to get it right soon.


Spics huh?

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Lavarinth » Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:46 am

160 gigs? That's like.. 1/5th of the amount of space I have.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

WB
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:46 pm
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby WB » Tue Jul 24, 2007 2:18 am

I have a 100GB internal drive, a slim 40GB, and a giant 80GB, both external. I'm looking forward to getting 3 more external 100GB drives, each dedicated to a single project of mine. (school, game, other project)

I'll be buying a new high end laptop around nov/dec, probably with a dual 60GB HDs.  :)
Now with 50% more lol, 50% more win, and 100% phlail.
www.sc2campaigns.net - Coming Soon!!

User avatar

Milldawg
Zerg Defiler Nutritionist
Zerg Defiler Nutritionist
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: US
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Milldawg » Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:51 am

GIES I THINK I AM IN TRUBL

I have a 4-year old Dell laptop

2.8 GHz (or so it claims) Pentium 4
512 MB RAM
128 MB ATI Radeon 9600/9700 Series
Six slices of Havarti cheese

I can barely run Heroes 5, HL2 gets <40 fps on medium settings (like 800x600), and I spilled milk on the keyboard so I can no longer move diagonally in FPSes.

I plan to get a new computer eventually (probably next summer), but I don't know things about computers and things.  Should I get a desktop over a laptop?  Should I get one made out of plastic and metal rather than rubber and cheese?  WHERE IS THE ANY KEY?

User avatar

WB
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:46 pm
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby WB » Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:00 am

I wish I could just buy a desktop (cheaper) but I need to have a laptop, so I'm stuck pouring my money into an overheating pile of shit (oh wait, thats my current laptop...it actually overheated playing 1v1 starcraft on a lan...)
Now with 50% more lol, 50% more win, and 100% phlail.
www.sc2campaigns.net - Coming Soon!!

User avatar

Xenon
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Zerg Queen's Nest Slave Trainee
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:29 pm
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Xenon » Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:25 am

I'm hooked on laptops, largely because I prefer to lie on the floor or bed rather than sit in a chair. I intend to get a Macbook Pro within a year, but I should probably get a job first. The engineering job market is terrible in my region  :P

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Lavarinth » Tue Jul 24, 2007 2:11 pm

Get a desktop- Upgradeable.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

chris
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Zerg Ultralisk Waste Manager
Posts: 655
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:09 am
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby chris » Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:52 am

Warbringer87 wrote:wait, thats my current laptop...it actually overheated playing 1v1 starcraft on a lan...)
it overheated using STARCRAFT!?!
...
dude, are you using a dell as well?

edit: my CPU is very weak. its a 2.5GHz celeron D
but my ram and video card make up for it. so just get that :)
Zilla- wrote:campaign creations presents campaign creations starcraft campaign contest

Lavarinth on podcast wrote:Hey kids, this is Lavarinth. I know I didn't say much in this podcast, actually, I didn't say anything at all. See you guys on the next podcast.

User avatar

WB
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:46 pm
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby WB » Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:31 am

My laptop is quite powerful, the problem is fan placement/chassis design led to the issue of hot air blowing towards the graphics card and the processor, and a more than usual propensity for collecting dust. it's not a dell, its an HP.
Now with 50% more lol, 50% more win, and 100% phlail.
www.sc2campaigns.net - Coming Soon!!

User avatar

Smirnoff
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 5:20 pm
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Smirnoff » Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:45 am

I recently started gutting my desktop and replacing the components one by one whenever funds could be allocated.

- x2 500 gigabyte hard drive (WOO! A TERABYTE!)

- 3 gigabytes of RAM

- x2 AMD Athlon 64 X2 dual-core processor 4800+

- x2 NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT
Yeah, I'm from the STF forum. I was that dude that, like, was 5 posts away from becoming an officer, and then, like, the forum shitted out on us for whatever reason.

Gee, whatever happened to those cool rank images?

User avatar

IskatuMesk
Xel'naga World Shaper
Xel'naga World Shaper
Posts: 8789
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: M͈̙̞͍͞ͅE̹H̨͇̰͈͕͇̫Ì̩̳CO̼̩̤͖͘
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby IskatuMesk » Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:36 pm

Why didn't you just get 2x 8800?
Image~[Gameproc]~Image
Warning: dialogue contains politically incorrect content. Viewer rearsore may occur.

User avatar

Lavarinth
Xel'naga Administrator
Xel'naga Administrator
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:21 pm
Location: His Ashworld Planet
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Lavarinth » Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:20 pm

Owned.
- - Lavarinth
Campaign Creations Administrator

User avatar

Smirnoff
Terran Refinery Attendant
Terran Refinery Attendant
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 5:20 pm
Status: Offline

Re: PC hardware for SC2

Postby Smirnoff » Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:04 pm

The 8600s were all that were available at the time. My computer was out of commission and I really wanted to get it functioning again so that I could play my various games and watch my films of dubious origins.
Yeah, I'm from the STF forum. I was that dude that, like, was 5 posts away from becoming an officer, and then, like, the forum shitted out on us for whatever reason.

Gee, whatever happened to those cool rank images?


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest